RSS Feed

I will never know.

I feel you,

Sometimes. And as
I pass the record shop,
I wonder if your feet
twisted to the jazz
that spills out of the door.

Maybe you were more
soul,
Just like now.

I will never know.

I’m eating a cupcake
with lemon icing
and a curd centre.

I come here,
to this whimsical,
Overpriced,
Romantic cafe
because their
cakes are the lemoniest.

Did you like lemon, like me?

I will never know.

And if I sit at the
window, third
from the right,
I can eat my cupcake
and see you.

You’re holding my
hand and I
can see your mouth
moving.
Talking.
Smiling with me.

I wonder what amused us?

I will never know.

No matter how hard
I watch,
How quiet I am,
I’m denied your voice.

Your voice…

A pretty waitress
with braids, brings me
my hazelnut latte.

It’s my third one
but I’m addicted.
Devoted to the image.

I thank her with
a smile.
One of my sideways ones
that could be yours.

But

I will never know.

A stab of sadness
penetrates my heart,
When you’re
not
where I left you.

It’s just me. Again.

I drink my sorrow,
Pack up my books.

Purse my lips at the
braided waitress,
With a bow of my head
and leave.

Leave you be.

I walk the cobbles home
and I remember you
like a dream.

That you remain unseen,
My sweet,
perfect mystery…

Is my own personal tragedy.

About GinAndTulips

Gin and Tulips; The home of the frolicking G&T Lovers. Come in, pull up a comfy seat and make yourself at home. And if you like it. Join us.

3 responses »

  1. This is wonderful. Really like your stuff, always beautiful. I still don’t get the gin and tulips thing but that’s okay.

    Reply

Please feel free to say something...

