RSS Feed

Reminisce, Us.

You had light on your face and
squinted eyes
but still you saw me
through the shadows.

You took something magical
and planted it. Tended to it
as it sprouted and grew life.
It refuses to die.

Concentration stopped and
became my gift
and still
you played, that song that now is mine.

Do you remember?

My hair was messy, ruined
by the downpour that
attacked the windows
and you had a thin, green scarf
that would later burn my
skin.

I remember…

Your eyes were everywhere
as I worked that room.
Working; talking words and beats
and planning a slam.
Mine danced with them privately in a snatched second.

The air was so heavy. Like now.

You waited such a time
and I,
wracked with the anticipation
of us, felt dizzy.
I knew us even then
before you came to me.

The first page of our novel
was this, our story start.
Remaining its’ perfect self,
Untainted innocence
in my mind.

I’ll keep it
if I may.
Treasure it, even.
You see…
It’s my favourite part.

About GinAndTulips

Gin and Tulips; The home of the frolicking G&T Lovers. Come in, pull up a comfy seat and make yourself at home. And if you like it. Join us.

8 responses »

  1. This is great – much more showing than telling, well done.

    Reply
  2. You have no idea how much I can relate to this.
    I feel like you have gotten inside my head, but in a way like you’re supposed to be there.
    I agree with Martin: Well done.

    Reply
  3. This speaks to one of my experiences. Kind of creepy and sad, but reality.

    Reply
    • This man seems to get around 🙂

      That’s sad; that it’s sad for you, I mean. I didn’t write it with sadness in mind. I saw it with a fondness, a romance. I suppose it depends on the rest of the story.

      In what way creepy? You mean how you connected with it or something else?

      Reply
      • I may have used the wrong wording, I feel that it is eerie that so many people sense things, negative or positive across rooms. I am so happy for you that it was fondness and affection that drew you to him. I am a little sad also, how beginnings can be perfect and yet, not end so well.

  4. It’s the beginning of a relationship, and beginnings are always good. Scarf that burns your skin = foreshadowing a bad end. But YES! There is always fondness for the beginning.

    Reply

Please feel free to say something...

