RSS Feed

Physically perplexed.

My friend Newton
had a theory
that clearly
I’d fallen for you.

I told him
how science scared me.
That words were what
I was about.

He said it’s not
just physicality.
Explained the force of gravity.
Attraction and its pull.

”But I don’t want to fall.”,
I told him,
and he just laughed all
that he could.

“You crazy old man. How
can a girl like me
believe, in a
world of so much tripe?”

He just held his sides
hysterically.
“Oh my poor, innocent love.”
He chuckled, holding me tight.

But I just frowned. Watched
him grapple.
“Forgive me, my sweet!”
He managed to speak,

“You can have my apple, if you like.”

About GinAndTulips

Gin and Tulips; The home of the frolicking G&T Lovers. Come in, pull up a comfy seat and make yourself at home. And if you like it. Join us.

9 responses »

  1. The apple as a metaphor for love? Brilliant.

    Reply
  2. You were standing on the shoulders of giants

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Saturday Poetry Sampler #1 | Lyrical Anarchy

  4. Pingback: Saturday Poetry – The First Time | Lyrical Anarchy

Please feel free to say something...

