RSS Feed

Pandora’s Guilt

There is a moth

beating its wings inside of the lampshade.

I watch it haunt me from up there,

Perspiring the need for absolution

until I vomit regret

with a violence

of the Earth at present.

Still.

As I shake with a torment of ages

it continues to tink-tink and flicker,

casting further shadows on my

shattered soul.

In the early days I was hopeful

for a remedy

but that was the sweet scent

lingering in the air.

My final escapee.

I tried to catch them, extinguish them all .

Every single, last one.

But tears of desperation evaporated in

the flames that should

never have been given.

They were of a speed that mocked

me

dividing like cells, intent on poisoning.

The aids of the world of then;

digesting

destroying

mutating life before my eyes.

And so I stopped. Admitted defeat and

indulged in weary desolation.

Began to observe my creation

every affliction, a wound upon my

skin.

It was with unprecedented sadness

that I watched them spread, spoiling

the beauty of my beginning.

And I was that, before then.

Before the whispering brain

boiled over in lunacy,

spasms of interest

paralysing my conscience

until I was gripped; possessed by it.

You see,

I am a map of scars

for your world of pain,

Learned all too late

how

curiosity kills more

than just cats.

And for my part in that,

I grieve.

About GinAndTulips

Gin and Tulips; The home of the frolicking G&T Lovers. Come in, pull up a comfy seat and make yourself at home. And if you like it. Join us.

5 responses »

  1. I like the photo and the story was very good. Thank you. Good to have fun and test writing.

    Reply
    • Thanks John! The painting is by a very talented Chris Walker. I hadn’t seen the painting before I wrote this…. Interesting; when you find somebody whose mind runs the same tracks, as yours…

      Reply
  2. Very deep and this takes time to really digest all the content. Thank you for making me think!

    Reply

Please feel free to say something...

