RSS Feed

Freedom

Do that thing again
Smoke fills the room and I am
Watching you
Like a tiger – taking down its prey
with effortless skill

Panache

That’s the baby.
You glitter in triumph and I am nothing
but astounded by the kill
as you stand free of phobias old and
Face fears, new

Who knew banishment could behold such beauty?

Breathe in the exhilaration

I have nothing left to contemplate
I know what to do

About GinAndTulips

Gin and Tulips; The home of the frolicking G&T Lovers. Come in, pull up a comfy seat and make yourself at home. And if you like it. Join us.

10 responses »

  1. Yes, you should know what to do: you should not abandon us. I feel a roar coming on – great poem, G&T, and welcome back if only temporarily.

    Reply
    • I am sat in my back garden right now, listening to lions roar. Truth.

      Reply
      • I believe you.

        I remember your voice, it left an impression.

        Dear lioness, do you not sleep? Oh wait, I guess it’s morning-time where you’re at. Here, it’s far too cold and dark and there is snow (horrible snow!) swirling about. I may go out and clean it off in a bit. Ah the joy…

      • I live by the zoo. No wonderful imagery…just actual, real lions.

        It is morning, it is cold and still dark. But no snow, thank god. I hate the white stuff.

      • That is so cool… and weird. I heard roaring in your poem.

        Happy morning. Funny that. You may perhaps be starting on your coffee… I am still deep in my scotch. It’s a wonderful world, isn’t it.

      • I would rather be scotching than coffeeing….i may go for the middle. ground and have a brandy. Medicinal. For the cold. I think that is acceptable

      • Absolutely. Be well and be rested, G&T. I may finally turn in, it’s approaching 3 am. But first – the driveway needs some good shovelling!

  2. Amazing. I’ve no idea what it’s about but that’s okay. It is powerful. I am baking pies. My pecan recipe has 2 tablespoons of whiskey in it and smells up the house.

    Reply

Please feel free to say something...

