RSS Feed

The day

Stirring
learning a new day in an empty bed
Eyes close again to see
your face lace my pillow
skin on skin
I smell your scent

Closed eyes bring cruelty
and I, knowing full well that you
are nothing but past tense, open
them wide and find a cold, empty
space.

Down the stairs for coffee and
We are with me again.
It’s this brain, you see.
Relentless. Heartless.

Mine. Singing with living ghosts.

The phone rings and it is not you
but I smile through as I
remember the laughter that
once flowed in this same
place

Catching sight of my own
reflection, pulling back

Forward

Time to pretend the day away

Just again, like all the rest.

About GinAndTulips

Gin and Tulips; The home of the frolicking G&T Lovers. Come in, pull up a comfy seat and make yourself at home. And if you like it. Join us.

One response »

  1. Haha… I know my inconsistency is the most consistent thing about me.

    Reply

Please feel free to say something...

