Contrition 

I forget the name, the place
but never the breeze – nor the blaze of your eyes as I muttered something
that amused you.
Our cheeks quickened in colour – the heat of burning wood
and us, together

That scene, it sings your name

pursed lips that said I was stupid but you liked it

No sence remains. It’s your birthday and I’m shut up behind you, like all the ones before

Flickers of past, like old photographs

but we don’t dance in arms coiled like the strangers in pictures
though we bathe in their stagnant silence – having no words but walls, walls so tall that I no longer know how to reach you

To teach myself how to climb

And there’s so much that remains
unsaid, undone.
Longing – lingering on the stonework
seeping quietly as buds of before blossom, murdering the very mortar of our seperation
providing hope for future flowers

It’s why I sit here, chisel in hand

It’s your birthday, again. I’m to blame and I miss you. Quietly.

Behind closed doors.

About GinAndTulips

Gin and Tulips; The home of the frolicking G&T Lovers. Come in, pull up a comfy seat and make yourself at home. And if you like it. Join us.

2 responses »

  1. So poignant. Relatable in a way that makes me uncomfortable. Genius.

    Reply

Please feel free to say something...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.